Webinars | InSphero

Live Educational Webinar Program

Upcoming Webinars

Redefining NASH Drug Discovery: A New Approach to Complex Disease Modeling

Non-alcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH) is a progressive disease that takes years to develop in humans and involves an intricate interplay of multiple liver cell types, impaired liver functionality, and disrupted signaling. InSphero Senior Application Scientist Dr. Sue Grepper will present a versatile platform for screening and testing NASH therapies using pathophysiologically relevant, disease-tunable 3D in vitro human models.  You will learn how our models can be applied to:

  • Recapitulate hallmarks of NASH pathology, such as fatty liver, inflammation and fibrosis
  • Assess compound and treatment effects on NASH with scalable, quantitative endpoints
  • Confirm perturbation of key pathways involved in disease progression

Next Sessions
(Your time zone will display when you register for a specific session.)

Wednesday, April 29, 2020
4:30 PM Pacific Daylight Time | 7:30 PM Eastern Daylight Time

Thursday, April 30, 2020
8:30 AM Japan Standard Time

Tuesday, May 19, 2020
10 AM Eastern Daylight Time | 4 PM Central European Summer Time

A Novel Framework for Teasing Out Mechanisms of DILI

In this webinar from the SOT 2020 program, InSphero CSO and Toxicologist Prof. Armin Wolf and Liver Toxicology Team Leader Dr. Monika Kijanska will introduce a framework for mechanistic toxicology investigations, based on a suite of causality assays developed for our 3D InSight™ Liver Toxicology Platform. Armin and Monika will discuss how to design experimental programs that help validate relationships between events that trigger toxic responses and identify adverse outcome pathways implicated in drug-induced liver injury, and present example data generated using our liver toxicology platform. You will learn:

  • How one simple, proven causality assay applied using different models at different time points can help tease out mechanisms of DILI
  • How to tune and adapt 3D-optimized causality assays for a wide range of pathways using specific pathway modulators for DILI-specific mechanistic investigations and mechanism based screening
  • Advantages of using a scalable, robust, and versatile 3D in vitro platform for liver toxicology studies

Next Session
(Your time zone will display when you register.)

Tuesday, May 26, 2020
10 AM Pacific Daylight Time | 1 PM Eastern Daylight Time | 7 PM Central European Summer Time 

Optimizing 3D Spheroid Models for Efficient Drug-Induced Liver Injury Screening

In this webinar, the second in a series of toxicology sessions, InSphero Senior Application Scientist Dr. Sue Grepper will discuss why drug-induced liver injury (DILI) remains a major cause of drug attrition in the pharmaceutical industry.  Sue will provide guidelines for integrating human 3D liver models into the drug development workflow to more efficiently screen for DILI compounds earlier in the preclinical phase, using our 3D InSight™ Liver Toxicology Platform as an example. You will learn:

  • Why human 3D liver models outperform traditional 2D hepatocyte cultures
  • Requirements for predictive DILI screening using human 3D liver models
  • Industry trends and future outlook for predictive liver toxicology

 

Next Sessions
(Your time zone will display when you register for a specific session.)

Tuesday, May 12, 2020
4:30 PM Pacific Daylight Time | 7:30 PM Eastern Daylight Time

Wednesday, May 13, 2020
8:30 AM Japan Standard Time

Monday, May 18, 2020
10 AM Eastern Daylight Time | 4 PM Central European Summer Time

Implementing High Resolution, High Content Image Analysis with Multicellular 3D Spheroid Models

High content analysis (HCA) of 3D spheroid models has the potential to provide valuable information to help researchers untangle disease pathophysiology and assess novel therapies more effectively. However, the transition from 2D monolayer models to dense 3D spheroids in HCA applications is not trivial and requires 3D-optimized protocols, instrumentation, and resources. In this webinar, InSphero Senior Application Scientist and SBI2 President Elect Judi Wardwell-Swanson and Yokogawa Life Sciences Senior Executive Dr. Gerd Heimlich will:

  • Provide a detailed introduction to HCA with multicellular 3D models for drug discovery
  • Review platform requirements and recommendations
  • Present two case studies to illustrate the power of HCA in complex drug discovery applications

Next Session
(Your time zone will display when you register.)

Thursday, May 14, 2020
10 AM Pacific Daylight Time | 1 PM Eastern Daylight Time | 7 PM Central European Summer Time

A Novel, High-Resolution Perifusion Platform for Studying Insulin Release Dynamics of Single Human Pancreatic Islets

Pancreatic islet perifusion assays have long been used to measure dynamic hormone release from islet cells in response to specific stimuli, however implementing a reliable, highly reproducible, yet simple method to assess human islet function remains challenging. In this new webinar, InSphero Head of Islet Solutions, Dr. Burcak Yesilag teams up with Dr. Patrick Misun of the ETH Zürich Department of Biosystems Science and Engineering, to discuss how dynamic insulin release can be studied in vitro using a novel microfluidic perifusion system. They will present results of their collaborative study, recently published in Advanced BioSystems, and offer their vision for the future of preclinical islet research. You will learn:

  • Limitations of pancreatic islet perifusion assays that rely on pooling multiple islets per experimental condition
  • Model requirements for reliably measuring secretion dynamics of a single human islet in vitro, using our 3D InSight™ Diabetes Platform for islet research as an example
  • How the newly engineered microfluidic hanging-drop-based perifusion platform was used to study dynamic insulin release from single islets at high temporal resolution

Next Session
(Your time zone will display when you register.)

Wednesday, May 20, 2020
11 AM Pacific Daylight Time | 2 pM Eastern Daylight Time| 8 PM Central European Summer Time

Wednesday, May 27, 2020
7 AM Pacific Daylight Time | 10 AM Eastern Daylight Time| 4 PM Central European Summer Time

On-demand Webinars

Multi-Tissue Experiments in a Scalable and Automation-Compatible Format

Dr. Olivier Frey, InSphero Head of Technologies and Platforms, discusses the physiological relevance and handling of 3D microtissue spheroids and how to perform multi-tissue experiments in a scalable and reproducible way.

View Webinar